United States Army Warrant Officers Association

Fort Lowell - Apache Chapter

Tucson, Arizona

IRS 501(c)(3) Non-Profit Public Charity Organized November 2001


 "From the Chief"

 Fellow Warrants

The future affords our organization the opportunity to try to do more in the community and try to get our name out.  However, to do that each of us needs to make a commitment to become a little more involved.

We will continue our commitment to support the JROTC programs at Flowing Wells, Cholla and Rio Rico High Schools.  We do this through our scholarship program, supporting the Apache Drill Competition, and Distinguished Service Awards at these schools' annual Award Ceremonies.  Fortunately, our Annual Golf Tournaments have provided us with the funds to do this.

In 2012 we became a 501c(3) charitable organization after a long and exhaustive process.  The significance of this accomplishment is our hope that contributors will be more positive.  In the long run, our community involvement will help raise awareness of our dedicated members.

Our Charter was issued on November 2, 2001 and we commemorated our 10th Anniversary at a Dinner with former Chief of Staff General John Wickham (see Events).

1. We have held 11 Golf Tournaments.

2. These yearly fundraisers have allowed JROTC Scholarships to be awarded in the Annual Awards Ceremonies.

3. Hosted the Annual Warrant Officer Association meeting in 2005.  Provided support for a chapter member to attend the AMM for the last several years.

4. Commissioned the sculpting of the "Geronimo" statue awarded to the winning team of the Apache Drill Competition held by Flowing Wells High School JROTC.  Participate and support this annual competition.

5. Donated money for the re-internment at the Southern Arizona Veterans Memorial Cemetery on May 20, 2009 of the military and civilian bodies unearthed in Tucson.

6. Donated money in 2009 toward the costs of a Funeral Escort Team escorting the remains of veterans Johnnie Franklin Callahan, James William Dunn and Medal of Honor recipient Isaiah Mays to their final resting place at Arlington National Cemetery.

7. Established a JROTC Distinguished Service Medal program on behalf of the US Army Warrant Officer Association.  Received approval by the JROTC Command for the Medals to be worn by cadets nationwide.

What I am saying is that it only takes a little time to do great things, IF everyone does a little, instead of a few trying to do it all.  Because a few can only do so much.

I am always interested in hearing your thoughts, so please let me know what is on your mind.  I am proud of you for what we have done and what we will continue to do.


Non-Profit TIN 32-0005997

Regular meetings are held on the 2nd Monday of each month.  Please visit the Meetings page for more information.

Chapter Officers for 2024

Note: Email addresses are no longer one click linked, sorry for the extra step. Please write down the address and type it into your email program.

    vice president
    Scott McKenzie
    Harold Lindamood
    John Curtis
    Craig Dowdney

November 2, 2001

CW4 Randall Acree
CW5 Vincent A. Baiocchetti, Jr.
CPT Robert H. Fogel
CW3 Lyle Fridlund
CW2 Richard Gollner
CW4 Charles E. Hendricks
CW2 David G. Hinkson
CW3 Gary M.Huggins
CW3 Ronald J. James
CW3 William J. Keller
WO1 Scott D. Kirtley
CW4 William J. Lapedus

CW4 Harold L. Lindamood
CW2 William G. Mercer
WO1 Matthew Nickum
CW5 William (Nick) Page
CW4 Bradley Rinehart
CW4 Richard Schiffli
CW3 Arthur L. Schmid
CW4 Winston F. Shillito
CW5 Ronald C. Smith
CW3 Michael R. Turner
CW4 John (Chris) Walker
CW2 Leonard Wilfong

Back to Top

Page last changed December 24, 2023